Last updated .
Maine law prohibits knowingly selling, furnishing, giving, or offering to sell, furnish or give, an air rifle to a child under 16 years of age.1
Maine has no other law restricting non-powder guns.
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at email@example.com.Contact
- Me. Stat., 17-A § 554(1)(B). A defense exists if the defendant was the parent, foster parent, guardian or an adult approved by the parent, foster parent or guardian who furnished the child under 16 years of age an air rifle for use in a supervised manner. Me. Stat., 17-A § 554(2)(C).[↩]