Child Access Prevention
Kansas has no law that imposes a penalty on someone who fails to secure an unattended firearm and leaves it accessible to an unsupervised minor.
However, state law does prohibit any person from creating a hazard, which includes “[e]xposing, abandoning or otherwise leaving any explosive or dangerous substance in a place accessible to children.”1 Kansas’ child endangerment statute also makes it a misdemeanor to knowingly and unreasonably cause or permit a child under the age of 18 years to be placed in a situation in which the child’s life, body or health may be endangered.2 This crime is aggravated and treated as a “person” felony when an individual recklessly causes or permits a child under the age of 18 years to be placed in a situation in which the child’s life, body or health is endangered.3
State administrative regulations govern storage of firearms in certain locations.
Kansas has no law that requires unattended firearms to be stored in a certain way.
Kansas law also does not require a locking device to accompany the sale of a firearm (although federal law applies) and does not require firearm owners to lock their weapons.
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.Contact
- Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-4212(a)(3).
- Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-5601(a).
- Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-5601(b)(1).