Skip to Main Content

Our pro bono partners generously volunteer their time and legal expertise, helping us fight the gun lobby in court and defend lifesaving gun laws.

For more than two decades, the legal experts at Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence have fought to find solutions to the epidemic of gun violence that touches more than a hundred thousand Americans each year. Today, we are a national force for gun safety legislation, litigation, education, research, and advocacy. Our team is based in San Francisco, Washington DC, New York City, and Tucson, and our partner coalitions operate in states across the nation.

Our Pro Bono Partners

Since our founding in 1993 after the tragic mass shooting at the law firm Pettit & Martin, many of our greatest successes have been thanks to the remarkable pro bono support of leading law firms and solo practitioners. This team of pro bono partners is made up of some of the sharpest legal minds in the nation, brought together to help solve our rampant gun violence crisis.

Current Pro Bono Partners

  • Allen & Overy
  • Arnold & Porter
  • Buckley LLP
  • Cleary Gottlieb
  • Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass
  • Covington & Burling
  • Dentons US
  • Farella Braun + Martel
  • Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
  • Hanson Bridgett
  • Hogan Lovells US
  • Jones Day
  • Katten Muchin Rosenman
  • Keker, Van Nest & Peters
  • Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton
  • Kirkland & Ellis
  • Mayer Brown
  • Morrison & Foerster
  • Munger, Tolles & Olson
  • O’Melveny & Myers
  • Paul Hastings
  • Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton, & Garrison
  • Perkins Coie
  • Pillsbury, Winthrop, Shaw Pittman
  • Sidley Austin
  • Simpson Thacher LLP
  • Susman Godfrey
  • Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Odgers Pro Bono Award

Richard W. “Dick” Odgers (1936–2014) was a beloved founder, supporter, and friend of the Law Center. He helped found the organization after the 101 California Street shooting, served as the organization’s first president, and remained active on the board for 16 years.

Each year at our Anniversary Dinner in San Francisco, we recognize one of our outstanding legal partnerships and honor the recipient’s commitment and courage in this fight.

Award Recipients

  • 2023 Sullivan & Cromwell
  • 2022   Kaplan Hecker & Fink LLP
  • 2021    Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
  • 2020   Munger, Tolles & Olson
  • 2019    Jones Day
  • 2018    Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman
  • 2017    Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton, & Garrison
  • 2016    Keker, Van Nest & Peters
  • 2015    Katten Muchin Rosenman
  • 2014    Farella, Braun + Martel
  • 2013    Kirkland & Ellis
  • 2012    Covington & Burling
  • 2011    Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher

Become a Pro Bono Partner

    First Name*

    Last Name*






    Are you affiliated with a law firm?

    Please provide a copy of your bio or résumé.