Except when a minor is defending himself or herself from imminent danger as permitted by Mississippi law, any parent, guardian or child custodian who knowingly permits any child under age 18 to own or carry concealed a concealable firearm shall be criminally liable for a misdemeanor, carrying a maximum fine of $1,000, and may be imprisoned in a county jail for not more than six months.1
Mississippi also prohibits any person from causing, encouraging or aiding a minor (a person under age 18) to carry, whether openly or concealed, any firearm on educational property.2 Any person violating this provision shall be criminally liable for a felony, subject to a fine of not more than $5,000 or commitment to the custody of the State Department of Corrections for not more than three years, or both.3
State administrative regulations may govern the storage of firearms in certain locations.
Mississippi does not require a locking device to accompany the sale of a firearm (although Federal Law applies). Mississippi also does not require firearm owners to lock their weapons.
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at email@example.com.Contact
- Miss. Code Ann. § 97-37-15; see also Miss. Code Ann. § 97-37-14.
- Miss. Code Ann. § 97-37-17(3).