Pennsylvania law generally states that people who become prohibited from possessing firearms must sell or transfer their firearms within a “reasonable period of time, not to exceed 60 days from the date of the imposition” of the firearm prohibition, to another eligible person who is not a member of their household.1
Pennsylvania law provides more detailed and stringent relinquishment requirements for people who are convicted of domestic violence-related misdemeanors or who become subject to an active protection from abuse order.2 (Perhaps incongruously, however, this means that Pennsylvania law appears to provide stronger protections against armed violence for victims of domestic violence misdemeanors than to victims of felony domestic violence). For more information about these laws, see the section entitled Domestic Violence and Firearms in Pennsylvania.
A policy of the Philadelphia Adult Probation and Parole Department provides that anyone under its supervision has 10 days to dispose of a weapon. This policy provides for surrender of firearms to the police department, sale to a licensed firearms dealer, or sale to an eligible person. After the person sells or transfers his or her firearms, he or she is required to provide his or her Probation or Parole officer with a receipt or record of sale.3
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.Contact
- 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6105(a)(2).[↩]
- 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §§ 6105(a)(2); 6105.2; 23 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6108(a)(7).[↩]
- First Judicial District of Pennsylvania, Adult Probation and Parole Department, Firearms Surrender Policy .[↩]