Utah requires a law enforcement officer who responds to an allegation of domestic violence to confiscate the weapon or weapons involved in an incident of domestic violence.1 See the Utah Domestic Violence & Firearms section for further information.
Utah does not have any other laws mandating the surrender or removal of firearms from persons who have become ineligible to possess them.
Utah does allow cohabitants3 of a gun owner (“owner cohabitant”) to voluntarily relinquish the owner cohabitant’s firearms to law enforcement if the cohabitant believes that the owner cohabitant or another cohabitant with access to the firearm is an immediate threat to himself or herself or others.4 Law enforcement may hold the firearm for up to 60 days but must return the firearm to the owner cohabitant if he or she requests it prior to the expiration of the 60 day period.5
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.Contact
- Utah Code Ann. § 77-36-2.1(1)(b).
- Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-503(7).
- Cohabitants are defined as individuals 18 years of age or older residing in the home who is living as if a spouse of the owner cohabitant; is related by blood or marriage to the owner cohabitant; has one or more children in common with the owner cohabitant; or has an interest in the safety and wellbeing of the owner cohabitant. Utah Code Ann. § 53-5c-201(1).
- Utah Code Ann. § 53-5c-201(2).
- Utah Code Ann. § 53-5c-201(3).