Michigan requires handgun sellers to report transaction information to local law enforcement.1 In Michigan, once a handgun purchase license is issued, three copies are delivered to the applicant by the licensing authority (i.e., local law enforcement).2 When the handgun sale is made, the seller must fill out the license forms describing the handgun, listing the date of sale and indicating that the handgun was sold to the licensee.3 Both the seller and the licensee must sign the license forms.4 The seller may retain a copy of the license as a record of the sale, and the license holder (purchaser) must return the other two copies to local law enforcement within 10 days (one copy is retained by local law enforcement as the official record for a minimum period of six years, and the other is forwarded to the State Police within 48 hours of its receipt).5 In addition, local law enforcement must electronically enter information about the handgun into the State Police database if it has the ability to electronically enter that information, or otherwise provide that information as the State Police requires.6
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.Contact
- Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. § 28.422(5), 28.422a(2).
- Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. § 28.422(4).
- Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. § 28.422(5).
- Id., Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. §§ 28.422(6), 28.422a(3).
- Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. §§ 28.422(6), 28.422a(3).