Utah prohibits the Bureau of Criminal Identification (“BCI”) within the Department of Public Safety, which performs criminal history background checks before firearm transfers, from maintaining any records of a background check for longer than 20 days from the date of the dealer’s request for the background check, if BCI determines that the individual receiving the firearm is not prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or transferring the firearm under state or federal law.1 However, BCI is required to maintain a log of requests containing the dealer’s federal firearms number, the transaction number, and the transaction date for a period of 12 months.2
Utah does not have any laws requiring dealers to retain firearm sales records.
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.Contact
- Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-526(8)(a).
- Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-526(8)(b).