Permits to acquire firearms will only be issued to persons 21 years of age or older.1 Subject to certain requirements, however, permits are not necessary for persons under age 21 when carrying and using any rifle or shotgun while “actually engaged” in hunting or target shooting.2
State law allows any person 16 years of age or older, or any person under 16 years of age if accompanied by an adult, to carry and use any lawfully acquired rifle or shotgun, and suitable ammunition, while actually engaged in hunting or target shooting, or while going to and from the place of hunting or target shooting.3 Those engaged in hunting must have procured a hunting license.4
A permit is not required for the loan of any lawfully acquired firearm to a minor (a person under age 18) at a target range or similar facility for target shooting purposes, provided that the period of the loan does not exceed the time in which the person actually engages in target shooting upon the premises.5
Under state law, any child who, while attending school, is found to be in possession of a firearm will be “excluded” from attending school for not less than one year.6 For additional information, see the Hawaii Guns in Schools section.
Any person who brings a firearm into Hawaii must register it with local law enforcement.7 In 2019, Hawaii enacted a law prohibiting any person under the age of 21 from bringing, or causing to be brought into the state, a firearm, and registering that firearm.8 See the Registration of Firearms in Hawaii section for more information about registration requirements in Hawaii.
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.Contact
- Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 134-2(d).
- Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 134-5(a).
- Id; see also Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 183D-21.
- Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 134-5(b).
- Haw. Rev. Ann. § 302A-1134(b).
- Haw. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 134-3(a).
- Id. at (g).