Kansas law does not impose restrictions on sales of firearms to minors. There is also no minimum age to possess firearms under Kansas law, although no person under age 18 may knowingly possess a firearm with a barrel less than 12 inches long, unless that person is:
- In attendance at a hunter’s or firearms safety course;
- Engaged in practice in the use of such firearm, or target shooting at a lawful, established range;
- Engaged in an organized competition involving the use of such firearm, or participating in or practicing for a performance by a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which uses firearms as part of the performance;
- Hunting or trapping pursuant to a valid license;
- Traveling to or from one of the above activities, provided the handgun is secured, unloaded, and outside the immediate access of that person; or
- At his or her residence, or on real property under the control of that person’s parent or legal guardian or grandparent, and the parent, legal guardian or grandparent has granted permission for the possession.1
Federal age restrictions impose stricter limits.
Additionally, in 2015, Kansas passed a permitless concealed carry law authorizing anyone 21 years of age and older to carry a concealed firearm in public without a license or permit. Individuals under 21 years of age may only do so when on their own land, abode, or fixed place of business.2
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.Contact
- Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-6301(a)(14), (k).
- Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-6302(4).