Wisconsin generally prohibits the intentional transfer of any firearm to an individual under age 18.1
The state also generally prohibits the possession of a firearm by any person under age 18.2
These restrictions do not apply, however, when the firearm is being used by a person under age 18 when supervised by an adult during target practice or a course of instruction.3
Wisconsin law generally provides that for hunting purposes, the minimum age for possession or control of a firearm is age 12.4 A person age 12 but under age 14 may not hunt without being accompanied by his or her parent, guardian or a person at least 18 years of age who is designated by the parent or guardian.5 A young person 12 to 14 years of age also may possess a firearm if he or she is enrolled in instruction under the state hunter education program and is carrying the firearm in a case, unloaded, to or from that class, or is handling or operating the firearm during that class under the supervision of an instructor.6
Federal age restrictions also apply.
Our experts can speak to the full spectrum of gun violence prevention issues. Have a question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.Contact
- Wis. Stat. § 948.60(2)(b).
- Wis. Stat. § 948.60(2)(a). These restrictions only apply to a person under age 18 who possesses or is armed with a rifle or a shotgun if the firearm is a short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun, or if the person is not in compliance with the hunting regulations set forth in Wis. Stat. §§ 29.304 and 29.593.
- Wis. Stat. § 948.60(3).
- Wis. Stat. § 29.304(1)(a).
- Wis. Stat. § 29.304(2).
- Wis. Stat. § 29.304(2)(b)2. For additional information on restricting the use of firearms by persons under age 16, see section 29.304(2), (3), and (5).