Press Release

RELEASE: Giffords Endorses Slate of Gun Safety Champions for Delaware General Assembly

The endorsement comes as part of the Giffords #VoteCourage Campaign to elect gun reform candidates nationwide

Washington, DC — Giffords, the gun safety organization founded by former Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and Captain Mark Kelly, announced its endorsement of 14 candidates for Delaware General Assembly.

Delaware took a step towards ending gun violence in 2018 when leaders in Dover enacted gun safety measures, including a new law to establish a process for obtaining a Lethal Violence Protection Order (LVPO). This important legislation will temporarily prohibit individuals who are a danger to themselves or others from possessing a firearm, but more still needs to be done to ensure that all Delaware communities can live free from the threat of gun violence. Our endorsed leaders have the courage to continue fighting for lifesaving gun safety measures in Dover.

Statement from former Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, co-founder of Giffords:

“America experienced three of the deadliest mass shootings in modern history in just the past year. Over 38,000 people in our country were killed by a gun in 2016. Delaware has suffered from this crisis: somebody is killed by a gun in Delaware every three days. Despite this devastating reality, the gun lobby continues to use its cash and influence to try and stop state legislatures from passing laws to make our schools, streets, and communities safer.

“The candidates we are endorsing today acknowledge the toll of gun violence in their state, and they are working to stop it. Their leadership will be critical for our next victories in Delaware to prevent future tragedies. Giffords is proud to endorse these leaders, who have the courage to stand up to the corporate gun lobby and who will never stop working to save lives.”

The newly-endorsed candidates include:

  • Elizabeth “Tizzy” Lockman – Senate District 3

  • Laura Sturgeon – Senate District 4

  • Stephanie Hansen – Senate District 10

  • Bryan Townsend – Senate District 11

  • Nnamdi Chukwuocha – House District 1

  • Sherry Dorsey Walker – House District 3

  • Debra Heffernan – House District 6

  • Valerie Longhurst – House District 15

  • Melissa Minor-Brown – House District 17

  • David Bentz – House District 18

  • Paul Baumbach – House District 23

  • Edward Osienski – House District 24

  • John Kowalko – House District 25

  • John Viola – House District 26

The Giffords #VoteCourage campaign aims to elect gun safety advocates to Congress and defeat politicians who have historically worked against gun reform, or done nothing at all to prevent gun violence. The political program targets incumbents in mostly suburban districts and uses a mixture of TV and digital advertising, on-the-ground organizing, and a voter registration push to create momentum for meaningful progress on gun safety.

Learn More about the Giffords 2018 political program here.